Brownies!!!

Brownies!!!

Brownies!!!

Hello there! So today I’d like to tell you guys a lovely little brownie story and share my lovely little brownie recipes with you! I don’t know about you but I love brownies. I actually only know of one person who doesn’t love brownies. I mean how can you resist that chocolate fudgy taste and texture of a good brownie? (If you know a way to resist, please tell me. Brownies are my weakness.)

When you discuss brownies you have to address the great brownie debate. The question that has come between different brownie lovers since the dawn of brownie time… “Fudgy or cakey?”  I personally prefer a fudgy brownie but if you make fudgy brownies, some people will say things like “These brownies are too rich!” or “I prefer a cakey brownie”. If you make cakey brownies people will say things like “Is this supposed to be cake or brownies?” or “I prefer a fudgy brownie.” If you make both then people might argue over which one is better or you might have a room full of fudgy lovers and the cakey won’t get eaten. I’m a people pleaser so I always make sure that my brownies are the perfect combination of fudgy and cakey. Boom, everyone is happy.

Last month I was asked to make brownies for my mom and step dad’s work Christmas party. I was so excited, the only problem was that I had 2 different brownie recipes that were perfectly fudgy/cakey delicious and I couldn’t decide which one to use. I had one recipe that was a bit fudgier with a glaze and chocolate chips on top and one recipe that was a bit cakier with chocolate chips on the inside. So, I made both recipes at home and brought them to NOCCA to ask my culinary classmates which one they liked better. They all liked both of them but said that their favorite was the fudgier one with the glaze so that’s what I went with. The only downside about this recipe is that in my experience, it doesn’t double very well. I had to make 2 separate batches at the same time but that was ok because they turned out great. My mom said that everyone at the party loved them.  Here are the recipes:

  • Best Brownies (winner):
    • 1/2 cup butter
    •  1 cup white sugar
    •  2 eggs
    •  1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    •  1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
    •  1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    •  1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon baking powderIcing:
    •  3 tablespoons butter, softened
    •  3 tablespoons Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder
    •  1 tablespoon honey
    •  1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    •  1 cup confectioners’ sugar
    •  1 tbs water (If needed)

(I usually top these brownies with a few chocolate chips, M&M’s, or nuts.)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8 inch square pan.
  2. In a large saucepan, melt 1/2 cup butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat in 1/3 cup cocoa, 1/2 cup flour, salt, and baking powder. Spread batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Do not overcook.
  4. To Make Frosting: Combine 3 tablespoons butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa, 1 tablespoon honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 cup confectioners’ sugar. If still dry add 1 tablespoon of water. Frost brownies while they are still warm.
  5. (optional) Top with Chocolate chips, M&M’s, nuts, or whatever topping you want.

Best Bombshell Brownies:

  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. Combine the melted butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each, until thoroughly blended.
  3. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, and salt in a bowl. Gradually stir flour mixture into the egg mixture until blended. Stir in the chocolate morsels. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking dish.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until an inserted toothpick comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Remove, and cool pan on wire rack before cutting.

These recipes are adapted from these recipes from Allrecipes.com :
Best Brownies
Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies

Tips:

  1. You don’t have to use Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder but I prefer it for brownies.
  2. If you grease your pans with butter and flour then try using cocoa powder instead of flour so it doesn’t leave white residue on your brownies. It makes messy dishes but beautiful brownies.

 

I topped these brownies with some sunflower seed candies. These brownies taste great with or without topping but I think toppings really bring them to life (especially colorful toppings like this). Don’t you think? 🙂

Brownies

Brownies

Brownies topped with sunflower seed candies

Brownies topped with sunflower seed candies

Leave a Reply

