Best birthday ever!!!

Hello! As you can probably tell by the title of this blog, I had the best birthday ever! On December 7th, I turned 16! Every girl looks forward to their 16th birthday. Its the birthday where most girls have a huge blowout sweet 16 party and its also the birthday where you are old enough to get your licence! Well, it wasn’t exactly like that for me. I’ve never really wanted a normal huge sweet 16 party because I wanted to be different (but really because I cant dance) and I never got my permit because I was too busy with NOCCA to take drivers ed so no licence for me this year. Since I didn’t want a huge party and I didn’t get my license I was worried that my birthday wasn’t gonna be very special. Boy was I wrong! It was a perfectly amazing birthday full of surprises!

The first surprise was my Nana! Nana is my grandmother on my moms side. She lives in Florida so I don’t get to see her very often but she flew in for the week of my birthday! I was so surprised! She met us at Cafe Du Monde and when I saw her I was so surprised I didn’t even know what to say so I just hugged her. She spent the week with us and it was so nice to have her here. My mom and Nana planned a surprise party for me.

All I knew about the party was that there was gonna be a party and it was gonna be a gourmet experience. I invited all my friends from my culinary class and a few of my other friends. I was so excited and so anxious to see what was gong to happen! When I woke up on the day of my birthday I went to brunch at The Ruby Slipper with my mom, my Nana, and a close friend of ours Mrs. Janet. I had the red velvet pancakes with cream cheese icing (with a side of bacon of course) it was so yummy. After brunch I went to get ready for the party with my best friend Lauren. We got our hair done and our nails done and then we went back to her house to get dressed and do our makeup.

outside

hors d'oeuvres

hors d’oeuvre 

When it was time for the party and we arrived at my house, some of my friends were already there. My mom came out of the house and told us to go around to the back yard. It was decorated so beautifully! The waiter (a close family friend named Cyle) came out and brought us sparkling grape juice, prosciutto wrapped asparagus, and brie on crackers while we were waiting for everyone to arrive. It was pretty cold outside but everyone was still enjoying the hors d’oeuvres and getting to know eachother. When everyone had arrived, the chef (my step dad) came out to introduce himself and tell us what we would be having for dinner. He also talked about his restaurant experience and where he had worked like Le Ruth’s, Emeril’s, and Commander’s Palace. Most of the people there were my friends from my culinary class so they were all very impressed.

The tableFinally it was time to go inside. When we got inside it was so beautiful! I was so surprised! They had decorated the house with candles and lovely white table cloths and purple decorations and balloons. Everyone loved it, especially me. We sat down and they brought us our food one course at a time. It was just like a real restaurant but all for us! We had 8 courses; crab meat St.Francis, oyster and artichoke soup, hearts of palm salad, champagne raspberry sorbet, filet mignon, snow peas and mushrooms, brabant potatoes, and baked Alaska cake for dessert.

Fillet Mignon

Fillet Mignon

Baked Alaska

Baked Alaska

 

I had never tried most of the food before so it was cool to be able to try some new things. Everyone loved all the food but there was so much of it that my mom gave us all cute little to go boxes. While we were eating, my mom asked everyone little questions about me for prizes. It was cool to see how much my friends really know about me. Everything was absolutely delicious and I had a lot of fun and got a lot of cool presents but I have to say my favorite part of the party was the cake. It was a huge baked Alaska cake that my step dad made. It was so delicious but it was actually kinda scary at first. When he brought it to the table it was still on fire and it almost caught my dress on fire! Thankfully my dress was safe and the cake tasted amazing.

Everyone had so much fun and they were still talking about it for weeks after the party. We had a really good photographer at the party so here are some more photos taken by Michael Deris :

DinnerDinnerMom and ChefHugsSilly PresentsHSM jump!Me

Leave a Reply

