Love is Spelled C-A-K-E

Recently a family that is very close to my family lost their grandmother. She was living at the assisted living home where my mom and my step dad work and that’s how we got to know her family. When she died, we wanted to help them out as much as we could. My step dad is a chef so he decided to make dinner for them after the funeral and I made a cake. 

cake

She loved purple.

I used a recipe from Only From Scratch (one of my favorite blogs) for the cake and I used Wilton’s butter cream icing recipe for the icing. Believe it or not, this was my first time making that kind of rose. I’m not gonna say it was easy. Actually, I don’t recommend trying a technique for the first time when you’re making a gift. Trust me, the first few I tried to make didn’t look like roses at all. They just looked like squiggly icing blobs. Then I realized I was holding the tip upside down. Duh! When I turned the tip the right way the roses all turned out beautifully! I was so proud of them. 

When the cake was finished we brought it to the family and they loved it. It made me so happy to be able to put a smile on their faces on such a sad day. They have been so kind to us in the past and it felt great to be able to do something kind for them. Things like that remind me of why I want to be a chef. When something I cook makes someone else happy its one of the best feelings ever! 

3 thoughts on “Love is Spelled C-A-K-E

  1. This was a delight and labor of love anyway you looked at it! First, it was a surprise! Second, it was beautiful! Third, we threw some candles on it and sang Happy Birthday to the 5 year old great granddaughter of the deceased (my granddaughter.). Forth, it was absolutely delicious! And,fifth, you are right…it did make us happy! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts..

Leave a Reply

