The life of a Culinary Arts student at NOCCA

Hello lovelies! Today I thought I’d tell you about my life at NOCCA.

NOCCA (New Orleans Center for Creative Arts) is (as they say on the website) “a regional, pre-professional arts training center that offers students intensive instruction in culinary arts, dance, media arts: filmmaking & audio production, music (classical, jazz, vocal), theatre arts (drama, musical theatre, theatre design), visual arts, and creative writing, while demanding simultaneous academic excellence.” Sounds fancy right? Well it is.

To me, NOCCA is a place where talented kids go when they know what they want to do with their lives and they are completely dedicated to it. It’s fun but very challenging. It’s not like regular high school. You’re there because you want to be there, not because it’s school and you have to go.

Chef uniform

All ready for class!

The culinary class starts at 4:00 but I get there a little early so I can change into my uniform and get ready for class. (Yes, we do have cute little chef uniforms that we wear every day, hat and all.) When class starts you have to have your uniform, your apron, and your hat on and your knife kit or you get points off your grade. (One time I forgot my pants and I was freaking out but I borrowed some from my friend so it was all good… Just don’t tell anyone…) When class starts the chefs usually tell us what we will be doing that day and then they put us into groups and we start cooking. Usually they give us a recipe but sometimes they just tell us to make it our own style. When we’re finished cooking we usually taste each other’s dishes and then wrap them up to take home. (I think my family likes that part the most because they get to taste what I made in class.) We clean as we cook but we also spend about 20-30 minutes cleaning at the end of the day so the kitchen is always pretty spotless.

 I’ve only been there for one semester and I’ve learned and grown so much already. Culinary is the most expensive discipline at NOCCA because you need so many supplies so you really have to be dedicated. It’s a lot of pressure but it’s also a lot of fun. After a while, everyone in the class becomes like family.  Chef Dana and Chef Jessie are the instructors. They can be tough sometimes but they’re both amazing women that I really respect and admire. I’m really excited about the rest of the year and hopefully more years going to NOCCA. It’s going to be a great experience.

If you want to know more about NOCCA, check out their website!

8 thoughts on “The life of a Culinary Arts student at NOCCA

Leave a Reply

